Maison Puiforcat

BIOGRAPHY

Maison Puiforcat was founded in 1820 by Émile Puiforcat and his two cousins on rue Chapon, in the Marais, in Paris.

The company specialised in cutlery shop and began evolving towards the high-end of the silversmith’s trade in the late nineteenth century with Louis-Victor Puiforcat, recreating eighteenth-century masterpieces from his collection that are now exhibited at the louvre museum in Paris. His son Jean was named a master silversmith in 1920. Immersed in the wave of artistic change that characterised the period between the wars, he was one of the founders of the Union des artistes modernes in 1929, and was a friend of René Herbst, le Corbusier, Charlotte Perriand and Pierre Chareau.
READ MORE